Why am I starting this blog?

When my husband and I first found out that our son had 6 food allergies at the age of 10 months, we were a bit overwhelmed. Food allergies were completely new to us and we didn’t know where to start. For the first few months I found myself getting frustrated and sometimes even crying at the grocery store when I realized just how much my son couldn’t have. It took a while before I started turning my attitude around and getting excited when I found new foods that he could have instead of focusing on what he couldn’t. The last couple of years I have discovered so many foods that he could have that I never would have expected to be safe (hello Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup!). I have also found recipes to make him and I have also tweaked recipes to make them “Parker Safe”.  I commonly get asked to share the recipes (not only for those with allergies but those that want to eat a bit better as some of them a healthier than the store bought options.)

I am not a writer by any means but I hope this blog will help someone else with similar allergies to discover new foods and recipes. Who knows- maybe no one will ever look at this blog and I’ll just be talking to myself- which wouldn’t be that uncommon. Feel free to leave a comment to let me know you stopped by!

Standard

Leave a Reply

